Everyday Is A Celebration With You…

Dear Ruby,

I’m just about to get settled in at home. This evening my wife, kids and I joined her family for the celebration of one a family member’s birthday. It was awesome. I enjoyed it as I haven’t connected with them since lock down.

As I’m sitting on my bench smoking a cigarette, beneath the blanket of the night sky, I can finally reflect on the day I had.

I have the song by Easy Life – Have A Great Day playing in my head. I just had such a great day, and you were the best part to it.

It was fantastic seeing you today. You were busy with an online course, which you basically didn’t pay much attention to. You practically knew most of what was spoken about, and as enlightening as it was, you’re just that smart. You’re just that brilliant. A brilliant science nerd! A beautiful science nerd.

I can truly say that I had a great day. It was well spent with you and definitely worth the wait. I love how I can be myself around you. I can act like a total idiot, and you’ll love it.

I loved touching the parts of your body that tend to be extremely sensitive. Your body jolted today as I grabbed for your waist, and tickled beneath your armpits. The reenactment of me playing the harp while tickling you was me just being an idiot. All that mattered was that you laughed. I made you happy.

I love how explosive we get when we’re entangled in our passion.

The expression of love through kissing your soft lips, and running my fingertips through your hair…

Holding you around your waist while we lock lips…

We didn’t have our usual pillow talk, as we were short of time. Our bodies still connected, while on your bed. Brushing up against you felt glorious.

Our lack of self-restraint, while keeping an eye on the clock, lacked no sort of thrill. It’s an incomprehensible pleasure. Such sensual gratification it was, that we had our pillow talk while I drove home, and you picking up your daughter.

I love driving home. I know that I can’t stay just yet. But I love it. I would love to stay over and never have the thought of me missing you, as you’ll be right at my side, whether at the kitchen table, the bedside or even on the steps. You’ll be right there.

I am content with the drive home, as I still get to talk to you over the phone. It’s kind of like we never run out of things to say to one another. I know I can talk a bit much, but you just bring out the best in me.

I want to tell you all that I know…

All that I feel…

I’m not going to see you tomorrow as it’s my son’s birthday and I know for a fact that it’s not going to be a walk in the park getting through the day, knowing that I won’t be seeing you. Nonetheless, I have the memory of today to keep me going.

But we’ll see each other on Saturday and Sunday. Let’s keep our fingers crossed.

I miss you, Ruby.

Frank James, the writer.

By Frank James

Frank James. Father. Husband. Writer. Painting a husband and wife in watercolor.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started