Love Like We Do, and We’ll be okay, Ruby…

Dear Ruby,

I woke up this morning with thoughts of you. Getting myself out of bed feels good. It feels good, as I know that I have something to look forward to today.

We just got off a call. Things are great on your end and so is it on mine. Even though we had one of our ‘serious’ talks, about your mum trying to ‘meddle’ in your life, it felt good to just hear your voice.

I can’t wait to see you once I knock-off later. It’s been a couple of hours since I’ve last seen you, so I’m dying to get out of here to just hold you and feel you in my arms. I know that our time will be very brief this afternoon, but every second with you counts. Yes!

I know that what we spoke about this morning could still be bothering you, but I don’t think it should set a precedent for what’s to happen to us in the future. I know it’s complicated and there’s a lot of ‘bending over backwards’ to do, but compromises should and would be made.

Eventually…

Let it not bother us for now, Ruby. We’ll be fine and whatever decisions we make won’t spell the end of us. Religion is a big issue. You’re Muslim and I’m Jewish. I’m still married, while you are divorced.

We just have to trust each other and keep the faith alive.

Love you, Ruby

Frank James, the writer.

By Frank James

Frank James. Father. Husband. Writer. Painting a husband and wife in watercolor.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started